The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Electrical, Battery and ChargingMessage format
 
aaronsinthegarage
Posted 2020-04-17 11:16 AM (#596999)
Subject: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static


Regular

Posts: 63
2525
Location: Norfolk, VA
Hello to the forum again. My Fury's radio is playing static only and I'm wondering what's the issue. All the other functions and buttons work as they should. My only lead on this could be the fact that the antenna has broken off near the base and is held in place by simple gravity. Could this be my problem? It was initially only partially broken but over time of putting the car cover over the antenna over the past few months it's finally broke. thanks for your input.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Powerflite
Posted 2020-04-17 11:39 AM (#597001 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6648
5000100050010025
Location: So. California
A broken antenna could definitely cause this, especially for AM.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
60 dart
Posted 2020-04-17 4:47 PM (#597015 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8656
5000200010005001002525
Location: WHEELING,WV.>>>HOME OF WWVA
either you're not close enough to an AM station or as above a broke antenna . a lesser cause could be the radio is just old . i'm going to use a 2000 chrysler concorde to replace my factory
radio , under dash with using a delete plate for the old one . the one in the car now is a factory radio box with an am/fm inserted into the box and dressed up some . the reason i'm tellin you this is
cause the two radios sittin side by side on bench using the same wiring and antenna don't receive the same , newer v way older . the newer 2000 one receives like a dream -------------------------------later
Top of the page Bottom of the page
normsclassicradio
Posted 2020-04-17 4:48 PM (#597016 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: RE: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static



Veteran

Posts: 250
1001002525
Location: Kalispell, MT USA
Easy test. Have someone touch the antenna coax or connector at the antenna while listening. Often stations will show up with a "human" antenna.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
aaronsinthegarage
Posted 2020-04-18 7:48 AM (#597030 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static


Regular

Posts: 63
2525
Location: Norfolk, VA
Thanks for the response's. I'll have my daughter grab hold of the antenna this afternoon after the rain to see if that will help it tune better.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
aaronsinthegarage
Posted 2020-04-20 11:36 AM (#597116 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static


Regular

Posts: 63
2525
Location: Norfolk, VA
Holding onto the antenna didn't make any difference. UGH.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
normsclassicradio
Posted 2020-04-20 12:23 PM (#597117 - in reply to #597116)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static



Veteran

Posts: 250
1001002525
Location: Kalispell, MT USA
Try plugging in a different antenna into the back of the radio, even a NAPA cheapo. That would eliminate the antenna system (coax and antenna and ground) as the fault. Before you rip out the radio.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
51coronet
Posted 2020-04-24 7:14 PM (#597305 - in reply to #596999)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 356
1001001002525
Also AM gets blocked by structures much more so than FM. Are you outside while doing this? There is a guy that will take your old radio and put new internals in it for a cost of course. Its a neat option if you want the original to work. He can put AM and FM and a few other options. Its a really neat modern mod that doesn't mess with the look of the interior.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
aaronsinthegarage
Posted 2020-04-25 4:17 PM (#597330 - in reply to #597117)
Subject: Re: 61 Fury 4 DR HT radio plays only static


Regular

Posts: 63
2525
Location: Norfolk, VA
great idea. Will try it once I've got the time to mess around under there. Thank you.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)